photo of the Journey of Reconciliation

journey of rec.tif

Dublin Core


photo of the Journey of Reconciliation


This is a photo of members of the 1947 Journey of Reconciliation. Left to right: Worth Randle, Wallace Nelson, Ernest Bromley, James Peck, Igal Roodenko, Bayard Rustin, Joseph Felmet, George Houser and Andrew Johnson.

There were sixteen members that participated. Not included in the photo are: Black members - William Worthy, Conrad Lynn, Dennis Banks, Eugene Stanley, Nathan Wright; White members- Louis Adams, Homer Jack. Future CORE national director Floyd McKissick (not shown here) also played a role.

The journey was a joint campaign between CORE and the Fellowship of Reconciliation (FOR). Bayard Rustin and George Houser, both FOR field secretaries and CORE executive staff, were the co-organizers. The journey was the primary inspiration for the 1961 Freedom Rides.


“photo of the Journey of Reconciliation,”, accessed May 26, 2024,

Output Formats